Senate examines Gov. Mike Dewine’s response to the East Palestine prepare derailment

Senior Democrats and Republicans on the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee have announced they will hold a hearing to examine the response of local, state and federal officials to the train derailment in East Palestine, OH.

Sens. Tom Carper (D-DE) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) announced in a joint statement to PoliticusUSA: “The recent Norfolk Southern train derailment in East Palestine, Ohio has raised serious health and safety concerns from the surrounding area led communities. Given these concerns, we will soon be holding a committee hearing on the environmental and public health impact of this incident. Our focus is examining the local, state and federal response immediately after the train derailment and ongoing efforts to clean up toxic chemicals in the area. We believe this is an important step in ensuring the health and safety of those affected by this horrific accident is a priority.”

Subscribe to our newsletter:

Gov. Mike DeWine’s role in the response has come under increasing scrutiny after reports that the tests he used to declare the water safe to drink were not from state or federal agencies, but from the railroad responsible for the derailment was responsible. DeWine acted unilaterally to authorize the release of hazardous chemicals into the air.

Republicans are trying to blame Biden and the EPA for this disaster, but Gov. DeWine requested federal assistance just two days ago.

Obama-era rules for rail transport of hazardous chemicals, which Trump abolished, must be reinstated. The hearing will be a high-profile investigation into how local and state officials may have made the situation worse by allowing Norfolk Southern to direct the response.

Jason is the managing editor. He is also a White House press pool and congressional correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a bachelor’s degree in political science. His thesis focused on public policy with a specialization in social reform movements.

Awards and professional memberships

Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and the American Political Science Association

Comments are closed.